I Could Hear My Heart Beating by Eman

I could hear my heart beating

as I awoke, connected to machines.

“Hurry him to the ICU. We’re losing him.”

I could hear my heart beating rapidly,

like drums at a voodoo ritual.

“Eric, what happened?! Who shot you?”

I could hear my heart beating, as if it was

inside my ear.

“Stay alive, Buddy! Follow my finger!”

I could hear my heart beating.

“Damn it, he’s flatlining. Clear!”

I can feel my heart beating

one thousand miles an hour. “Three bullet fragments

two centimeters from his heart.” I can hear everyone’s

heart beating. “Is he okay?” “Ma’am, he’s

doing fine.” She could hear my heart

beating. “Not again. Clear!”

“Come on, come on!”

“Damnit, Eric, hang on!”

I couldn’t hear my heart beating.

“Is he doing better?”

“Ma’am, sorry. But his heart stopped

beating.”

And on my own rest bed, I could

hear her heart beating.

IMG_0231

 

Leave a comment